Commodity Commission Appointments

Press Release


Thursday, August 13, 2020

Office of Communications


Appointments Made to Georgia Agriculture Commodity Commission

The Georgia Agriculture Commodity Commission Ex-Officio Committee met on July 30th, where they selected new appointees to serve a term of three years on their respective commodity commissions. At the conclusion of this three-year term, they will be eligible to be reappointed for additional terms. The new appointees are as follows:

Apple Commission- Janice Hale, David Lillard and Stephen Aaron

Blueberry Commission – Russ Goodman, Steve Mullis and Shane Wade  

Corn Commission – Rodney Harrell, Vann Wooten and Wallace Anderson

Cotton Commission – Lee Cromley, Chris Hopkins and John Ruark 

Equine Commission – Ron Smith

Milk Commission – Tim Camp, Pete Gelber and James Coble

Peach Commission – Jeff Wainwright, Duke Lane III and Lee Dickey

Pecan Commission, RG Lamar and Lanair Worsham Jr.  

Soybean Commission – Greg Mims, Tony Smith and Mark Arial 

Tobacco Commission – Carlos Vickers and Brandt Clifton 

Vegetable Commission – Dick Minor and Glenn Heard

Georgia Agriculture Commodity Commissions are created by the Georgia Legislature. Furthermore, a market order of each commission is passed by the growers of that respective commodity which allows for assessments on the commodity to be paid by each of the producers of such commodity. These funds are used for research, education and promotion of the commodity. Members of the commissions make decisions on how funds are spent and programs the commission supports.                                                     


About the GDA:  The Georgia Department of Agriculture (GDA) is the voice of the state’s agriculture community.  The department's mission is to provide excellence in services and regulatory functions, to protect and promote agriculture and consumer interests, and to ensure an abundance of safe food and fiber for Georgia, America, and the world by using state-of-the-art technology and a professional workforce.  For more information, visit us at: